Home Forums Miscellaneous Iowa Outdoors Cookbook — Recipes Smoker. Gas or electric or charcoal

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 53 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’ve never smoked a thing. Not even a cig. But I sure love some good barbecue. I’ve been looking online and Cabela’s has what looks to be a good deal

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Cabelas-7-in-1-Cooker-Smoker/732401.uts?searchPath=%2Fbrowse.cmd%3FcategoryId%3D734095080%26CQ_search%3Dsmokers%26CQ_st%3Db

Reviews don’t look terrible and even a few YouTube videos. Any comments if this would be a decent starter? Was thinking propane over electric. ( both are on sale). Seems to be a favored way just from googling it

Participant

I’ve been smoking meat for probably 5 yrs now on almost a weekly basis. I have never used a propane smoker so I can’t give much advice on that. But it really depends on what your wanting to smoke and how often you will use it. I will say with smokers you do get what you pay for, if your serious about getting into it then you may want a dedicated smoker and spend the money on that. I would recommend the weber smokey mountain there 3 to 400 depending on size. Smoking meat is very addictive and can get expensive. Let me know what your wanting to smoke and how often. I’d be glad to give you any advice.

Participant

You are going to get a ton of opinions. For me charcoal, or pellets, are the only way to go. If it matters to you, in BBQ competition you have to use charcoal or pellets because gas and electric aren’t even allowed.

The Bullet, or otherwise known as the WSM (Weber Smokey Mountain) is a great smoker from the beginner to the veteran!
    http://www.weber.com/grills/series/smokers

I have the 18″ but now they have a 22″. These are great smokers and incredibly popular. There are many competition teams that just use a few of these smokers and nothing else for contests.