Home Forums Fishing Fly Fishing Silicone Paste for dry flies

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    Up
    Down

Hi – I am relatively new to fly fishing and have had pretty good results on pan fish and bass in Iowa and trout fishing in Colorado over the past few years. In reading though some of the old forum posts on this site, I came across a couple of mentions of using a silicone paste on your dry flies to keep them on top of the waters surface. I had never heard of this before and have always just used a lot of mock casts to dry out the fly every third or fourth cast.

Is using silicone paste the better way to do it? Does the product have taste or odor issues that are going to scare off the fish? Is there a brand that you think is better than others?

Participant
    Up
    Down

I have used Gink and a couple of others quite a bit.

The key is to let use a small amount, rub it around between your thumb and first finger to liquefy it, then apply to the sparsely to the body of the fly. Keep it out of the hackle.

Works well for me. I also use Easy Dry from Loon once in a while as well with small BWOs and other smaller winged flies after they get slimed.

Participant
    Up
    Down

Oh yeah, and I am not aware of any odor or taste issues related to any of the floatants I have used. If the fish are rising and you have the right bug, they are going to hit it.

Up
    Down

Here’s a great article and review of fly floatants.
    http://troutster.com/fly-floatant-test/

Participant
    Up
    Down

how does this work on foam flies example–foam hoppers. some foam floats better than others. and i still use a floating especially in rough water.

NomadNomad
    Participant
    Up
    Down

Frog’s Fanny is my favorite. It’s a powder that you work into the fly. My second favorite is Gink.

Participant
    Up
    Down

Quote by: gsgramps