Home Forums Hunting Predator/Varmint Hunting lone bark???

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    Up
    Down

I decided to go out calling after work last night. The wind was out of the south/south east, I was able to approach the selected stand site from the north west (worked perfect) I set up in a fence line with great back ground cover. I had decided on my way out that I was not going to use the distress call (at least not right away) so I started off with the female invitation howl, about 30 seconds after the howl I heard one lone bark come from the standing corn field that I was calling towards 200 yards away. It sounded to me like it was either a female or a young male. I’m pretty new to calling so I was not sure how to respond, so I did nothing, just waited. I never did see the coyote. Is there anything I should have done differently???

Participant
    Up
    Down

I had the same thing happen to me a few years back and I also never saw the coyote. I think that when they do that it may be a warning to other coyote.

Participant
    Up
    Down

Did you try anymore calls or howls?

Participant
    Up
    Down

If they bark sharply at you, they usually know something is up. At that point try to shoot them, if you can, or I guess you can try a different call, but chances are it has you pegged so any movement will be seen.

Participant
    Up
    Down