Home Forums Hunting Upland Game Hunting this Friday, need help

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I have family coming for a hunting trip this Friday. Where we were going to go (Clark county) is looking like rain. Looking north to Cerro Gordo it looks like it will be snow but all I see up there for Upland is Union Hills WPA and McIntosh. I’m studying the Hunting atlas but I don’t have time to drive up and scout between now and then. Any public upland suggestions within a 1 hour circle of Mason city? At this point I’m just throwing darts at the DNR map to guess where to go to shoot some late season pheasant. Any help appreciated…I’m looking at the Hunting atlas now but I’m unfamiliar with the area.

Thanks in advance

uhansen6uhansen6
    Participant

Take a look up near Forest City (should only be 30-45 minutes from MC) there is some really good ground NE of Forest City that I’ve hunted before and had some good luck on in years past. Also there is Coulter Marsh south of MC just off the Hampton exit that usually has some good winter cover of cattails as well as shelter belts and food plots. Both would be worth looking into I’d think.

Also in Franklin/Butler county SE of Mason City you have the West Fork hunting areas as well. Have seen/shot birds in all of them, just haven’t hunted any this year to provide more accurate ideas.

Participant