Home Forums Hunting Firearms Guns for Alaska?

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    Up
    Down
    ::

Ok, I am fairly new to the sport of hunting and know very little about guns outside of shotguns. I have never hunted any big game with a rifle before, but I am very interested in getting started.

I will be moving to Anchorage Alaska in July and will likely be up there for quite some time. I want to learn how to hunt different game up there, but I don’t have a clue what to start looking for when it comes to firearms. I will likely try to learn the ropes of carribou, bear, doll sheep, goat, and deer hunting in Alaska. Does anyone have any suggestions on what kind of rifle(s) I should be looking to purchase? Good brands? Scopes? Ammo? price ranges? special licenses?

I am also looking to purchase a handgun (I’ve been told that a lot of people carry one (or mace) when out in the wilderness). Again, I know very little about handguns and what kind of gun would suffice for this “protection” purpose. Along these same lines, do I need a special license for a hand gun?

Any help or insight I could get would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Adam

mattcondon
    Participant
    Up
    Down

I don’t know much about what exact calibers you’re going to want, but I would suggest practicing with a small caliber rifle so you develope good habits. If you’ve never shot a rifle before and you buy 300 win mag or something you’re likely to develope a pretty bad flinch and ya don’t want to flinch when you’re shooting that ram 400 yards away.