Home Forums Miscellaneous Food Plot/Habitat Management Food Plots on CRP Land

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Can I put a food plot on CRP land? I have a small 3 acre portion on my land that’s in CRP but I don’t believe it’s been mowed or re-seeded in many years. It has been over taken by Cedar trees too. I have a large 40 acre CRP field that’s on another portion of my land that has been re-seeded and the Cedars removed within the last 5 years.

I have owned this land for just a few years.

Thanks

"In The Wind He's Still Alive" RIP Scott Ferris

Participant

You need to contact your local county NRCS office with your questions.

Participant

Quote by: jalariso

You need to contact your local county NRCS office with your questions.

Yup I am not an expert in this but I have looked into it a little. Each contract is different and some of them allow for a small percentage of the CRP to be food crop.

Participant

^^ What they said.
    Also, odds are you will have to clean up the 3 acre piece. They get a little grumpy sometimes when CRP is getting over run with trees.

Participant

Quote by: Tin+Roof

^^ What they said.
    Also, odds are you will have to clean up the 3 acre piece. They get a little grumpy sometimes when CRP is getting over run with trees.

Yup but I think it is one of those things that they let go bad until you have to redo your contract or it sells. I was looking at buying a piece close to my house. In fact they accepted my offer then it fell through, long story.

It has a 26 acres of CRP but half of it was thick with Willows. I was planning on having to rent a machine and clear it out prior to redoing the contract. They said a little is ok but when you can barely walk through it I am pretty sure it would have had to be redone.

Participant

How big are the Cedar Trees? Maybe burn off the patch. Or mow it all down with a bushhog.

OldbearOldbear
    Participant