Home Forums Fishing Fly Fishing Fly tying

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    Up
    Down

I am new to fly fishing. I have dabbled with this in the past fishing for Bluegills. It was fun watching them slowly rise and explode hitting that little fly.

I do understand why not many people get into this, it can be daunting. There are all sorts of different tippers, lines, sinking, floating, forward weighted. Not to mention what weight pole and line to use and what works best for which fly. Compared to #6 test, blue, green, ice line ect.

Sounds like I’m ranting, but I’m really not. Fly fishing has always intrigued me.

I have tied a few flies in the past from a kit that I purchased a many years ago.

Ok, so now to my question.

Where do you get your tying materials. Bass Pro seems to be out of allot of the stuff I’m looking for or just don’t seem to carry it. I have looked on their website. I used to get some of my stuff from 2nd Ave bait shop, but they have been closed for years.

What I’m looking for are things to tie wax worms with since I ice fish also and thought this will help me hone some skills.

Also looking for lead free wire and didn’t see any of this around.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Keymaster
    Up
    Down

Fly tying is an addictive hobby. It is one that takes persistence and knowing that the first few attempts will end up looking like belly button lint on a hook.

One of the myths that beginners make is that you have to fish on the surface. 90% of feeding takes place underneath the water.  Therefore, begin tying simple nymph and midge patterns. They are simple to tie and very effective. Pheasant tail and zebra midge patterns are my first recommendation. They will be deadly on bluegills, crappie, bass, and just about anything that swims. I even caught a large catfish two years ago on a leech pattern.