Home Forums Hunting Predator/Varmint Hunting Coon Calling rifle.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hey fellow outdoors people, I am new to coon calling however I have a question for all of you that do call coon. I have a 22 mag and a 17HMR. I am contemplating getting a 204 Ruger and using that as my coon rifle due to the killing quickness and the ability to kill before the coon heads back into the hole again. I have used a 22 lr however they have needed multiple shots sometimes. Am I out of line thinking to 204 Ruger? I have watched videos of people calling coon and they have been using a 204 or a 17 hornet some even a 223.

Participant

Take a look at the .17 wsm. I havent had to put a second shot in the 6 or so ive shot with mine.

Participant

I”ve used a .223 for this mission. One night I took 9 coons and none of them were blown up. I would say that a nice bolt action 223 would be a good candidate for this mission.

Participant

I’m pretty much convinced, if you want to drop a body-shot ‘coon *every time*.. you’re looking at centerfire. No experience with the WSM but I know a .22 mag or an HMR won’t do it. Question will be how “fur-friendly” they will be at the close ranges? I use a magnum and I pretty much won’t shoot unless I can see the head.

Participant

I’d be pretty uncomfortable shooting into trees with a CF. I use a .22mag and very seldom do they take one of those without dropping right away.

Participant

Thank you guys. this information has been very helpful. Even if I use the 17 hmr I always make sure there is a back stop for the projectile. So a center fire would be not a whole lot different than what I normally do anyway. Like you said before how fur friendly would the two rifles be? Hard decision.

Blocked