Home Forums Hunting Deer Hunting Clayton County Public Land

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m new to the Cedar Rapids area and I’m considering hunting up in Clayton Co. Any tips for public land? There doesn’t seem to be much public land up there besides the River Valley.

Are landowners up there willing to let you hunt their land?

Thanks!
    Jerry

Participant

Are you hunting 2nd shotgun, late bow or muzzle? There is public land up there more county owned than state. Unless you have friends or family up there you won’t get on private, a lot of leased land.

Participant

Also the further north you go the better. The rougher the land the better

Participant

Where can I find out the state public hunting land? I looked at the DNR atlas and it shows a handful of public state-owned land, but not too much.

I’m hunting late muzzleloader. Hunting solo.

Any suggestions for public land or methods of hunting (e.g. still hunting, treestand, ground cover, etc…)?

This is my first year ever hunting in Iowa. Used to hunt in South Dakota. I’ve never hunted timber before.

Thank you,
    Jerry

Participant

Are you using this?

https://programs.iowadnr.gov/maps/huntingatlas/default.html

If so you should be able to see all public lands available for hunting, not just state managed. County areas show up on there.

On that atlas program the state, county, Ihap, and other are color coded. Honestly though land is land, there really aren’t any huge benefits to hunting a state managed area. Sure some of them have “food plots” but this year a lot of them suck anyway at least in my neck of the woods. I don’t pay attention to such things but I’d have to think conditions during planting or shortly thereafter must’ve been pretty poor. They don’t always do a great job of timing or actual planting practices, but it’s public nonetheless, and you get what you pay for.