Home Forums Fishing Bowfishing Boat Size and Motor Size

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello, I have been bowfishing for a couple years out of my fathers 16.5′ v bottom and it is time to upgrade to a more dedicated bow fishing boat. My biggest questions is what length? I understand the wider the better but I don’t know how big I would need for 3 dudes at the front? We did some tournaments last year which were all 3 man shoots. I’ve done some searching and some people say 16′ are just fine but I just don’t know. We do bowfish some larger waters like Lake Thompson in South Dakota, Missouri and the Iowa Great Lakes. So I think a 16′ might be too small for those lakes. Should I be looking for a 20′? 18′? My dad will be upgrading the old crestliner so I will occasionally will be removing the platform doing some river fishing and lake pond fishing out of this boat. Any suggestions?

Participant

I don’t bow fish so I cannot offer anything on the boat, but I have bought several new boats and have a suggestion on motor size. Go with the largest motor recommended for that particular boat. You don’t want to be under powered, especially on those large bodies of water you mentioned.

Participant

In general bigger is better unless you have a specific reason to go small due to fitting in certain areas etc.. I dont bow fish much so my perspective is more general use and fishing, I would not go below a 17.5 if its is particularly wide or 18.5 if it is not.

Like above, go big on the motor.

bowfisherbowfisher
    Participant

Quote by: fisher24