Home Forums Fishing General Fishing Forum Big Creek Fish Kill

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    Up
    Down

Anybody have any idea what killed all the fish at big creek? I was out there last Friday and there was hundreds of dead fish. Looked to be at least 90% white bass.

Participant
    Up
    Down

This is the first I’ve heard of this. Definitely not good news. Do you happen to have any pictures you could share?

Participant
    Up
    Down

Saw that too. I saw mostly white bass also with a few drum mixed in. The more alarming thing I saw was the amount shad in BC. I’m no expert but it seems there are getting to be too many. I hope BC isn’t on it’s way to getting drained again.

Participant
    Up
    Down

Is there a bad algae bloom? I have been noticing this on lakes like little river and badger.

Participant
    Up
    Down

No pics and the water was pretty clear, didn’t see any algae. I heard it was bloomed up a couple of weeks ago but it wasn’t anymore. It looked like a lot of vegetation was dead, makes me suspicious of what happened.

Participant
    Up
    Down

Buddy talked to the DNR about the shad last year and they have no plans to drain it again. He said they are why the bluegill fishery is in the dumpster on that lake. They are definitely thick in there.

Participant
    Up
    Down

I saw a lot of white bass and even a couple of carp. No algae bloom that I could see this past weekend. Water was in fairly good shape it seemed. Was a bit baffled myself. No algae bloom, recent rains should have helped replenish oxygen levels. Maybe the rains washed in a bunch of chemicals or something that had been sitting on the surface during the drought?

Participant
    Up
    Down